What To Do About Glowlight Tetras' Red Gills

charliecat

Hello everyone -

I have 5 glowlight tetras in a 20 gallon tank running for about 1.5 months at 76F, pH 7.2, with an aqueon filter. The past week using the API test kit: nh3: 0-.25ppm, no2: 0ppm, no3: 0-.5ppm. I change 1/4-1/3 the water every 5-6 days and vacuum the substrate. I feed the fish tetra flakes once a day and once a week they get bloodworms instead.

These fish have been with the aquarium since the beginning, and are active and eating. However, one of them has developed bright red gills over the past 3 days. A second is showing slight reddening of his gills since this morning. The fish with the reddest gills hasn't been eating the past 2 days and appears slightly bloated and lethargic at times. I've read that it could be ammonia poisoning, bacteria or a parasite.

I'm new to this and would like to start helping my fish feel better, but I'd like some guidance on what to do first, since there seem to be a lot of possibilities. I don't know if it's relevant - but 3 of them had finrot a few weeks ago on their tails, I treated with melafix and they are growing back. I've attached a somewhat blurry photo of the two red gills and some non-reds - so hopefully that helps. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_6680.JPG
    IMG_6680.JPG
    84.8 KB · Views: 278

nikm128

It's probably from the ammonia and nitrites, did you cycle the tank, or is it still cycling?

Fishstery