What The Heck!!

1. MusicalFish

MusicalFish Initiate Member

Hi all,
    I would really appreciate some help from all of you experienced fish friends. I've had a tank for a while and ONLY know what I've learned online, which is: have a big tank, not too many fish, keep the water levels right, and feed peas for swim bloat.

I've been keeping Fancy goldfish for a few years and was doing GREAT (for me anyway) with my pair who lived for 5 +years before the first of the pair died of Swim Bloat (after living upside-down occasionally for about 6 months). After a few weeks, we got fish #2 a couple of buddies and its been MISERABLE ever since.

The whole tank died off after 2 days! So, I treated the water, replaced most of it, waited till the water was PERFECT (I bought the mad scientist API kit with the vials and stuff), and bought another fish.

He was doing great for about 2 weeks, until today, when I changed 1/2 the water because it was super cloudy. I put in the water conditioner, some Slime Coat, and 3 hours later. I'm holding his gasping little self and trying to feed him peas because he is floating at the top of the tank and barely breathing.

So, First of all, I need to figure out why my water is getting so cloudy! It wasn't a problem with my original 2 fish in the 15 gallon ( then I learned about needing a bigger tank and moved them to a 50 gallon)

Second, why would my fish DIE from changing the water? I put the conditioner stuff in the water, and its not a heated tank, so the water is the same coming in...

Here's the details on my tank, as far as I know them...
    50 gallons.
    Water is in Perfect shape
    filter, air bubble bar, several plants (live...could this be the problem??)
    Gravel on the bottom

thanks all....

2. MommaLake

MommaLake Well Known Member Member

Hi, sorry for your troubles what kind/size filter do you have? And what are the numbers from your water test. Need to know ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. Hope we can help.

3. shiv234