What Stage Is My Tank At In Its Cycle?

1. Adam Leonard

Adam Leonard New Member Member

Hi everyone,

I am still somewhat new to the aquarium hobby (only two months in), so I'm still learning about handling my tank's nitrogen cycle. I need some advice from all the expert hobbyists out there, please.

My brand new 15g tank is only two months old, and is still cycling. I've got six platy fish living in it now, and all are doing well. I'm also in the middle of a full-on bacteria bloom. Here's what the water looks like:

9c3acf94c58012d4691122fd5cb9366d.jpg

I've tested my water parameters, and here they are:

High Range PH

1c3722d05257c733fbbeb84a95e70eb0.jpg

Ammonia

ff6843edca347cf91435d156d1045331.jpg

Nitrite

36f2d7c2de7d27f0af21143d665c8ab2.jpg

Nitrate

d1dc4955b4aaa4b943deb87a71ebb6e3.jpg

My questions are... How far along is my tank in its cycle, and any idea on when it will be fully established? I'm sooo confused right now because I'm getting high readings in ALL THREE toxins at the same time. How is that possible? I thought by the time you started testing positive for nitrate, you were supposed to read ZERO in ammonia and nitrite? But as you can see, the water is testing high in all three. Am I doing something wrong?

2. Caitlin86

Caitlin86 Well Known Member Member

Have u checked ur tap water?...it may already contain ammonia.

3. Floundering_Around

Floundering_Around Well Known Member Member

Are you doing water changes? The levels are really high and could damage your fish.
    Do a large water change, 40-50%, and then smaller ones every day or so

4. OP
    OP
    Adam Leonard

I did. My tap water tested 0 for traces of ammonia. The water stayed completely yellow after five minutes...not even a hint of green.

I still don't understand how I can test very high in all three toxins simultaneously...? Have you ever heard of this happening before? Is it common? If so, what does it mean?