What size wood for stand?

Cooper23

Hey all, i am wanting to builf an aquarium stand that holds 4 80 litre tanks (20 gallons) on 2 tiers. I am pretty sure i will be using pine for the stand, just wondering what thickness i will need the wood to be. I live in australia so any bunnings links, will be appreciated thanks.

Flyfisha

Let’s get one thing out of the way first Cooper23 .
The concrete ( Cement) blocks used by many Americans are a lot different to Australian 190 mm blocks.

However if you intend to use pine timber as legs you will have less issues?

Can you be more specific about the dimensions please.
Are you putting the two rows of two tank sideways or end on .

Will it be two 300 mm wide tanks end on ?
Or two 600 mm long tanks side on ?

Although the weight is the same the span is different.

I have not made my own stands is I used racks from Bunnings. I was a carpenter in my working life.

betchern0t