What Should I Do About Animal Abuse In This Pet Store? Help

1. wapooshe Member Member

So I walked over to my local Pet store for the first time and I was browsing the fish. Many of the fish were sick and just looked plain sad. I know that can happen in many chain pet stores, but the thing that ticked me off the most was when I turned the corner and saw a 2 foot catfish! This wasn't even a display tank, they were selling this catfish and even worse it could barely move cause it was in I'd say a 40 gal. Now I'm no expert on catfish but I think if the fish is constantly swimming up and down or in a circle due to small space, that must be torture. ):

2. 2211Nighthawk Well Known Member Member

Sadly way to many people just don't care about fish. The other thing is is that it is very likely a fish that size was surrendered. So what's worse? A way to small tank where someone could eventually adopt him to a bigger tank or the original owner killing him or something because he doesn't want him? My petstore will take surrendered fish, they had a pair of oscars maybe 10" long in the 40g breeder and for a very short while had a cichlid that was a good 10-12" long. He found a home almost right away.

Long story short, there isn't really anything you can do.

I'd rather see a huge fish at the petstore that was surrendered and has a chance to find a new home then sitting in a too small tank because the owner dosen't care or dosen't want to give up the fish.

3. FishFish221 Well Known Member Member

Report it. If you buy from them, they will see that people are buying them and order more.

4. wapooshe Member Member

I thought it was illegal to sell fish that people put up for adoption in pet stores. I know pet smart takes in fish but doesn't sell them and only adopts them away for free.

5. 2211Nighthawk Well Known Member Member