What research do I have left?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Setup' started by melovefish, Dec 17, 2012.

1. m

melovefish Valued Member Member

Im starting a saltwater aquarium, and was wondering what research do I have left. Ive covered water paramiters. Ive read up on acclimation and maintenece. Its fowlr tank so I dont have to worry about corals. I am running 2 peguin 350 filter on 55 gallon tank. have any questions ill leave a comment. Thanks!

2. ryanr

ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

3. J

JessiNoel21 Well Known Member Member

I researched 2 yrs before I even started my tank and I am still learning. My best advice is to take it slow and if you are gonna use the penguins take the bio wheels off and put active carbon and LR rubble in them. And make sure you get a protein skimmer it will safe you a huge headache in the long run. Plus make sure you have all your equipment before you even start. For a 55 I would do 40 lbs Dry LR and 20 lbs LR and 60lbs LS.

4. OP
    OP
    m

I Need some input.

Im starting a saltwater aquarium, Im looking for inputs with what wrong or needs some help. I plan on doing a 55 gallon fowlr- fish-only-with-live-rock tank. I went to my lfs and they had a 55 gallon marineland kit. That came with a heater peguin 350 and a nice led hood.

what i plan on doing is running 2, 350 peguins and the guy say that 2 peguins running will make my tanks spotless and will be enough flow to go without powerheads.Also saying that I would not have to run a protein skimmer because its fish only.Because originaly planed to run a wet dry with a protein skimmer but was way out of budget.i plan on doing regular sand. Im going to build my stand/canopy.

oh yeah and im doing 20% water changes every 2 weeks

ive done reasearch on acclimation, and what i was going to have to do [maintenece]. i know what water paramiters and what salintey i have to have. i know forgeting to type somthing and i know i missed somthing in general. so thanks! :)