What plants?

1. Brokenshadows34 Member Member

Hey, everyone.

This will probably get moved, but I wasn't sure where to put it.

I have a 45 gallon tank that only has artificial plants right now. Eventually, I would like to have a total of two angelfish, two German blue rams, six black phantom tetras and keep my butterfly gold-spot pleco. I want to add some rocks, plants, and my mopani driftwood that I've been soaking for several months.

I would like some plants that can grow in the river-pebble-like substrate I have, on rocks, or with driftwood, and in neutral to slightly acidic water, for the fish I'd like to have. I have absolutely zero experience with plants, and I'd like some advice.

Also, what are some rocks I can use? We have a lot of river rock in our landscaping. A LOT. So I can use that. When I went to Arizona, I picked up some rose quartz and granite, and I was wondering if I could use them. Any tests to check for metals that I should do beforehand?

Thanks, guys.

2. delta5 Well Known Member Member

3. AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

Well you can attach some Anubias or Java fern onto your driftwood or the new rocks that you got. You can also add java moss. For a foreground plant I would go with some Dwarf Sag. Some good background plants would be moneywort, amazon swords, wisteria, Brazilian Pennywort, hornwort, you can also try some Crypts for the mid ground. These are really great low light plants and really don't need anything. I have some in my tank with some regular lighting and sand and they do great! You should really try these plants!

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. Linda4088 Well Known Member Member