What Plants Should I Get For A 55 Gallon Angelfish Tank?

Gavin Chalmers

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I have a 55 gallon tank with fish in it but I’m getting rid of them and I’m going to get 4-6 angelfish. I want to plant it but don’t know what plants to get. I’m not going to do co2 and I don’t want to use root taps but I can if I have to. I have a low light but the tank is right in front of a window so it gets sunlight. I really want banana plants and would like to get either amazon sword or aponogenton boivinianus. So I was wondering what I should get and how many plants to get. I’ve never had any real plants in an aquarium so I’m looking for really easy plants. I’m also open to suggestions on other plants. Thanks.

Fanatic

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Jungle Vals would work with the height for a fact, and amazon sword too.
I am not experienced with plants, but many other members are!

Dreypa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
My angels love my Amazon and Indian Flame swords as well as the Anubias. Mine are a bit rough on stem plants / anything fragile but thats a mostly fish by fish basis. Amazon swords & Anubias are really low maintenance and great first plants to experiment with. Usually pretty affordable too. I would suggest root tabs on occasion for swords as they are heavy root feeders but can get away without them if your insistent on a no-fert approach. Banana plants can create water lily's which produce great shade on the bottom of the tank if your looking for something along those lines.

Gavin Chalmers

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started