What Live Plants Will Goldfish Like And Eat ?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by OmarAsim4, Apr 8, 2017.

1. O

OmarAsim4 New Member Member

Guys,
    Please advise on live plants which is easy to care and will be eaten by goldfishes?

2. Monrankim

Monrankim New Member Member

You want your plants to be eaten?

3. _IceFyre_

_IceFyre_ Well Known Member Member

Why not feed them veggies instead of paying for expensive plants?

4. OP
    OP
    O

I'm new to this like for planting Live plants so dont know about them alot , but I have done research on Internet over there it say's to buy Anubias Barteri , Is it good for goldfish and will they like it ?

5. Monrankim

I'm not sure if this will fulfill their nutritional needs completely but I would imagine that it would be a healthy addition to their diet. Are you trying to propagate a plant in your tank that they could eat or add grocery store veggies like greens or something?

Duckweed would be something to consider. It reproduces very fast and I have plenty if you need some

6. ashenwelt

ashenwelt Well Known Member Member

So if you want plants that will survive and be munched on, you need to select fast growing plants and not super slow like anubias.

So water sprite and anacharis (water weed) are good choices. I would person ally though possibly do duckweed or water lettuce as they may actually slow down its insane growth.

But fast growing is always best if you have goldfish.

As a note, you would still need to feed the fish.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2017
  7. Monrankim

Well I don't understand why you would bother trying to keep an aquatic plant if it will be destroyed. The plants will not repair the damage fast enough to continuously feed your fish, even with Co2 and ferts. You would be better off just buying fish food.

8. ashenwelt

It is healthier for the fish. And enough fast growers and they will survive.

9. oOBlueOo

oOBlueOo Well Known Member Member