What kind of tank shall I get?

SpudAndBob
hiI guyss i'm new to all this! I've been doing lots of research into fish keeping and to be honest some of it is soo confusing lol!

I've always loved the bright, colourful fish, so should I go for the tropical fish? I've heard that theyre hard to look after though but some other people say it's easy, you just need a heater! so naturally I'm kinda confused !

soo.. some people are saying that a 20 gal tank would be a good start? its not massive is it? and what kind of fish could I keep in there that would all get along, eat similar food (not eachother haha) etc...

and this sounds dumb... but where do you put the fish when you're cleaning your tank? or are they just happy to stay in there?

and when you clean the tank do you use Prime in water and a sponge?
thanksss

0morrokh
Tropicals (freshwater) are a nice place to start, since they give you more species to select from than coldwater, but are a bit easier to keep than saltwater fish (which are also tropical, but I assume by "tropical" you meant freshwater tropical). Hopefully I didn't just confuse you more.

I wouldn't consider fish hard to care for. There's a lot of info thrown at you initially, but once you get the hang of things it's not difficult. But there is a whole lot more to keeping fish than just a heater, so you have to be prepared to do some research (or else pick other forum members' brains ).

A 20gal is good to start with...no it's not massive. It's a good size because it isn't overwhelmingly huge but it's better than super small tanks which can be harder to keep stable.

There are a TON of fish you could consider. Do some research (fishlore has a lot of fish profiles, as do most fish sites) and see what type of fish you like. Let us know what you like and we can help figure out which ones are compatable.