What Kind Of Fish Is This?

Discussion in 'Fish, Snail, Worm And Pest ID Help' started by poxkix, Apr 23, 2017.

1. poxkixNew MemberMember

Hello fellow fish lovers!
    Any of you guys know what fish are these? They are caught wild from a river just a few kilometer from the house. They tend to clump up at the river bank away from the river flow

2. AWheelerWell Known MemberMember

3. poxkixNew MemberMember

I have the same thought but the tails differ.. any other thoughts? There are tons of these in that river system

4. AWheelerWell Known MemberMember

They might be a mix of endler and guppy too. Are the ones in the photos males or females...or a mix of both?

5. Protim SarkarWell Known MemberMember

They are EndlerGuppies. Very pretty !

6. poxkixNew MemberMember

Honestly i have no idea. It's my first time seeing these.

I have never seen both endler and guppy from the river though.

What are the traits or signs to confirm that they are really endlerguppies?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 23, 2017
  7. AWheelerWell Known MemberMember

The markings scream endler! the only thing that is "off" is the tail...but think about it, even guppies have different tails, the endlers in the river could just have different tails, or they could be mixed with guppies (who knows, someone may have dumped them in the river)

Edit: I'm looking at some pictures right now of Endler's and it looks like some of them have different markings on their tails, so they could just be regular endlers.

8. poxkixNew MemberMember

Ikr? Hahah maybe these are juveniles?
    I've caught about 15 of them. 5 colorful ones and 10 plain ones that are bigger than them.
    After catching and inspection, i've placed the 5 colorful ones in my 15gal planted tank with one red cherry. After the inputs from you guys I furthered my research about endlers and gave me the knowledge that if they are endlers, the plain ones are females.