What Is Wrong With My Zebra Danio?

1. Heavy Metal Lion

Heavy Metal Lion Valued Member Member

so, obviously I'm new to this hobby.
    I just lost my betta yesterday that was also housed in this tank, and today while i was doing a water change, i noticed this discoloration/damage on one of my zebra danios (see image). Now, i only have 2 danios in this tank (the person that sold them to me said they would be okay until i was able to safely add more fish to my tank). The other danio seems very aggressive. From day 1, the danio pictured has hidden most of the day, so i assumed the other was simply more dominate, but now i'm wondering if he is being bullied/harmed by the other (the other is even chasing my oto cat).
    I've just added "Lifeguard" to the tank, in case this is a bacterial infection.
    any ideas?

(also, i'm sorry the picture is terrible, he was near the glass, so this was the best angle i could get)

Attached Files:

2. el337

el337 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore :)

Firstly, I would read up on the nitrogen cycle if you're not familiar with it (your profile says you don't know it). Secondly, do you have a test kit that measures pH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate? If so, can you provide your numbers?

Schooling fish will nip and show aggression if not in proper numbers of at least 6+. However, in a 10g, it is too small to house zebra danios because in a proper school, they are too active to keep in that tank size. Suggested tank is a 20g long. Otos are also shoaling fish and should be kept in a larger tank as well.

I'm guessing the water quality is affecting your fish, a wound from being nipped at or just sick to begin with. I'm not familiar with Lifeguard but I would keep the water as clean as possible for now and look into rehoming or upgrading your tank.

Just want to mention that bettas and zebra danios/otos are not temp compatible.

Advertisement

3. OP
    OP
    Heavy Metal Lion