Help What is wrong with my Neon Tetra?

ArtFish

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
My tetras sometimes look like this.
They have also been slowly dieing off one by one (I think it’s becuase my water has been bad lately)
What’s your water parameters?
How long has tour tank been running?
do you only have neons/tetras in this tank?

might be fungus, Doesn’t look exactly like it though

Keep an eye to see if the tetra look and acts worse.

Add some aquarium salt, otherwise it doesn’t look like anything really bad to me.

FreshwaterHG

Well Known
Reaction score
If you can, remove him immediately. I had a tetra that had something similar and shortly died after. There are a range of bacterial or fungal infection it could have and you definitely don’t want something like that spreading around your tank. A 10g hospital tank is always best. I set up mine for under $40.

I’m no expert on this but two things that come to mind are columnaris and neon tetra disease. One of which is treatable and both of which are infectious to the other fish. Hopefully someone with more experience can give input.

still would recommend removing him immediately and doing a 50-80% water change on the main tank. It will also be helpful to know more info on the tank. If you can fill out this form, please do. Just paste the template into a reply.

Fish Emergency Template | 376562 | Freshwater Fish Disease and Fish Health

OP
Fishbills

Fishbills

Reaction score
ArtFish said:
My tetras sometimes look like this.
They have also been slowly dieing off one by one (I think it’s becuase my water has been bad lately)
What’s your water parameters?
How long has tour tank been running?
do you only have neons/tetras in this tank?

might be fungus, Doesn’t look exactly like it though

Keep an eye to see if the tetra look and acts worse.

Add some aquarium salt, otherwise it doesn’t look like anything really bad to me.