what is this?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Rs0006317, Dec 20, 2012.

1. R

Rs0006317 New Member Member

hello there, i am fairly new to this aquarium stuff... i started out in September with a 2.5 gal tank.. i am now with a 20 gal tank.. any ways on with what i am freaking out about.. attached i have posted a picture of what looks like Styrofoam but isn't.. it just appeared in my tank this morning.. it doesn't smell and its hard.. anyone know what this could be?

i only have live bearers in my tank

- Betta fish (1)
    - gold dusted molly (3) (1 one month old) (4 total)
    - diamond molly(1)
    - strawberry platy (1)
    - gold cobra guppy(1)
    - silver platy(1)
    - mystery snail (1)
    - rubber nose pleco(1)
    - and a fry tank with gold dusted molly (16)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
  2. Matt B

Matt B Well Known Member Member

Hello and Welcome to Fishlore! :;hi2

Looks like mystery snail eggs to me.

3. OP
    OP
    R

thats what i was starting to think too.. but dont they need a mate? ive had this snail for a while now...

and how did it get on the lid?

4. Matt B

Matt B Well Known Member Member

I'm somewhat new to snails so I'm not entirely sure on this but its possible she was pregnant when you got her or she just layed infertile eggs. Mystery snails are air breathers so they make regular trips to the top of the tank for air and I would imagine she layed them up there while on one of those.

5. A

AlanGreene Well Known Member Member

Alien spaceship

6. kb9plc

kb9plc Well Known Member Member