What Is This Plant????

Discussion in 'Plant ID' started by GracieGoodman6, Apr 18, 2018.

1. G

GracieGoodman6 New Member Member

I got this plant from my LFS, it was a new arrival and they didn’t have a tag for it. I decided to get it anyways because it was cheap. Does anyone know what it is? IMG_1038.JPG IMG_1039.JPG IMG_1040.JPG

Also, i have a 10 gallon tank with the Finnex planted light plus, it’s rated at 6W, is this a low, med, or high light?

2. f

fishaholic87 Valued Member Member

im by no means a expert but id say some type on anubius what species no clue

3. SFGiantsGuy

SFGiantsGuy Well Known Member Member

That MAY be an Anubias Hastifolia, I could be incorrect though...

4. SFGiantsGuy

Pretty sure it is. The leaves are too wide to be a Narrow leafed Temple plant...IF it in fact is Anubias Hastifolia, then it requires low to medium light. Good looking plant though! HUGE! lol

5. f

fishaholic87 Valued Member Member

so definitly a anubias

6. SFGiantsGuy

Yeah, especially since it was "cheap" lol It's either an Anubias Frazeri, or an Anubias Hastifolia. Either way it's an Anubias species. It may be the Frazeri since it's already pretty tall! Those can almost get 2 feet tall in the ideal conditions!

7. OP
    OP
    G

I don’t know if it is an anubias species, the leaves are quite thin and it doesn’t come to a point like the hastifolia and it has pretty distinct wrinkles on it. It almost looks like the foliage of regular house plants. Also if you know, can you answer the question in the main post about the lighting wattage?

8. SFGiantsGuy