What is the proper temperature? Question

1. zergdaddy Initiate Member

Hello..I am very new to freshwater aquariums.I have a pleco and an african cichlid.Was wondering what temperature my water should be at?Also any suggestions on what I should be feeding my cichlid.I am currently using a pellet.I have only had my fish for a couple of days now.I am also using algae wafers for my pleco.Thanks.

2. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello Zergdaddy and Welcome to Fish Lore.

Your Pleco will also love a slice of zucchini from the grocery store. All you have to do is wash it off and find a way to make it sink. You can use a fork, a plant weight, or there are veggie clips that you can buy at the pet store.

I've never owned African cichlids but I'm sure they would love a varied diet of pellets, cichlid sticks, pre soaked freeze dried krill, I think some have even fed theirs romain lettuce, worms, crickets. I'm sure you'll get some more suggestions on this.

I recommend keeping your tank temperature any where from 76 to 80 degrees.

Best of luck with your new fish! I hope you can share some photos with us sometime.
    Ken

3. Bad Wolf Well Known Member Member

I'm not sure about african cichlids, but i know a lot of american cichlids loved frozen foods, blood worms, beef heart, brine shrimp etc. Plecos usually accept zucchini and cucumber. Drift wood is also very important for plecos.

4. agabr123 Fishlore VIP Member

don't forget to blanche the slice of veggie first by tossing it in the microwave for a few seconds :)

5. Nutter Fishlore VIP Member