Question What is the minimum I should spend for a coral light.

saltwater60

Well Known
Reaction score
By hard corals you mean SPS?
If so they have the highest lighting requirements and Id get the best and brightest light you can afford. What size tank? Also need height of the tank.
If you go led it will help you greatly in keeping bulb change costs down and heat down in the tank.
Don’t forget you may need a chiller too.

Lchi87

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
just want to add also that SPS require a mature tank and rock solid parameters so I would recommend dabbling in softies and LPS for awhile first until you get the hang of things. I'm about 2 years into the salty side and have only tried beginner SPS and even those are quite finicky. Not meaning to sound like I am discouraging you but rather would have you avoid some of my pitfalls as a beginner myself.

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
vampireshrimpfan said:
I am planning to get hard coral. What is the minimum that I should spend for a light.
Hard corals are the hardest thing, You need to get your community going first. Maybe think of saltwater a few years from now. ;)

OP
vampireshrimpfan

vampireshrimpfan

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Which type of coral should I get ( I am planning to saltwater in about 3 years from now, I am just doing my research now ). And when I do, I am planning to get star polyps ( hard coral? )

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
vampireshrimpfan said:
Which type of coral should I get ( I am planning to saltwater in about 3 years from now, I am just doing my research now ). And when I do, I am planning to get star polyps ( hard coral? )
Listen to Lchi87 she knows what she is talking about. That's why she is a moderator! :) Starting with soft corals is what you should research first. Maybe just research a FOWLR tank. (fish only with live rock)

Lchi87

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years