what is the importance of a quarantine tank. Question

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by maxx56dog, Apr 4, 2010.

1. m

maxx56dog New Member Member

hey I am a beginner to the salt water world. i have a 75 gallon reef tank and i was just wanted to ask an exert what they think about a quarantine tank? do you think is is a nessessaty even if the fish look healthy? how long do you usually keep the fish in quarantine? any advice for a new comer? also what do you think about vodka dosing. does it work? thanks

-Maxx:;dogrun

2. Lucy

Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

Hi Maxx welcome to FishLore!!

I'm not a salty, but I think the same would hold true between salt and f/w tanks.

New fish can be harboring an illness that we can't see with the naked eye.
    Two weeks (some say longer) gives you enough time to observe the fish to make sure it isn't sick.
    The stress of moving to a new tank could be just enough to let whatever nasty take hold of the fish.

If you add a sick fish to your tank, you could wipe out your existing stock.

I've never heard about dosing anything with vodka unless as a humane euthanasia tool (along with clove oil) .
    Perhaps salty is different in that regard?

If I'm missing anything, I'm sure others will chime in.
    Good luck!

Last edited: Apr 4, 2010
  3. l

lorabell Well Known Member Member

Great advice......I am jst getting into the salty side myself.......personally I dont want to spend 30$ or way higher on a fish and have a newcomer bring something in......I quarantine freshwater in a 29gallon...and once my 72BF goes salty I will be using a 20 gallon as a quarantine tank for the saltwater(Ive read about 3 weeks for salt water)

4. ATP

ATP Well Known Member Member