What is that stuff?

juniperlea

Valued Member
Reaction score
A true newbie here. It's now been about four months, and I've never had algae. I've always assumed algae is green. Then, I found out it can be brown, and worse, Black Beard algae! There's a lot of information out about algae magnets, cleaners etc. But, in all this time, I've never found out what that not quite invisible scummy stuff is that grows on the inside of the glass. Is that algae? The otos love to eat it, so it must be algae. I take a blue scrubby thing and clean it off now and then, because I want the otos to have food. Or, I grab a Marimo Moss ball, which works with much less pressure than the scrubby thing. But, is it algae? Place a plastic container filled with water for a week or so on your kitchen counter and there will be a build up of this stuff!!! I don't object to it. I just want to know what it's called and if I'm doing something wrong!!! :p

Das Junge

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I’d like to see an image of the algae if at all possible. Also, I wouldn’t scrub it off the side, unless you’re scrubbing it off and using a vacuum simultaneously to prevent it from spreading throughout the tank.

juniperlea

Valued Member
Reaction score
I’d like to see an image of the algae if at all possible. Also, I wouldn’t scrub it off the side, unless you’re scrubbing it off and using a vacuum simultaneously to prevent it from spreading throughout the tank.
I don't have a picture. It's just opaque slimy stuff. I can tell when it builds up because the glass looks dull, or not clear. Maybe it's this thing called bio-film or bio-slime and that it's perfectly normal to build up on the walls of the glass?

Amya

Reaction score
Is it clear hair like slime? It could be