What is bio spira supposed to be doing?

fishhappy
Hi, I am completely new to fish and FishLore, but I am very serious about it now and I need some advice before my little fish suffer. I have a 29 gallon tank that has been set up for 3 weeks. At 2 weeks, I put in 3 angels and 1 week later I put in 2 pictus cats and 2 snails along with some bio spira. My ammonia is too high and there is no sign of nitrites. This was 6 days ago, so should I do a water change, add some more bio spira? Help please!!!

Shawnie
welcome to fishlore!!!!!!!!!! ...bio-spira needs 7-10 days with no testing or water changes...testing it will only freak you out..after the time frame, depending on your readings, will depend on how much water changes (if any) are needed...

Lucy
Shawnie's got ya covered, I just wanted to say Welcome to the forum

COBettaCouple
Welcome to Fishlore.

When did you add bio spira to this tank?

pepetj
HI fishhappy, wellcome to fishlore!
Bio-Spira has saved a lot of fishes (never used it myself, but have read many threads here about it). You are doing right, let it work for another day or two, (you added it 6 days ago, right?). Bios-Spira (now reformulated as SafeStart for freshwater aquariums) will establish the type of bacteria a tank builds up during cycling. It is supossed to be safe for fish, although readings can cause us concerns -therefore we are advised not to measure water parameters for 7 days.

Are your fish doing fine? I guess their behaviour should give you a clue if they're stressed or not.

Pepe
Santo Domingo

fishhappy
thanks for the reply! All the fish seem to be doing fine, I just worry. And once you start testing the water, you will drive yourself crazy!!! But I will try and wait a few more days before testing again. Thanks!

Charmaine
HI fishhappy. Welcome to the forum. Do you have any pics for us??

Alessa
HI there! welcome to fishlore!

ok, I used biospira and got a bad batch...dont mean to worry you! follow shawnies advice and you'll be fine.