What Is A Prediction Of The Color My Fry May Be?

hinalynn

Reaction score
I am new to breeding Betta fish and I think I have some very common bettas. I have pictures below but the male is silver with turquoise and red fins. The female has a black face and the rest of her body is a dark blue. I have been researching the breeding process and will also be transferring them to more equipped tanks after the process. I have been reading that determining the colors of your fry is close to impossible but does someone have any experience with these colors of bettas and have a good prediction of what colors my fry might be? Also what is a reasonable estimate of the amount of fry that will hatch and survive? Thank you, and if I am wrong on any of the info above please me know so I can correct and not hurt the process or my fish

524810-6d3e3e629e7348de9b43d95a2f421ec3.jpg
524809-a5fb789b3b0f4563878b66ed3e36df98.jpg
Male

524807-c29489cb31367b3513e5dc1e242aad5f.jpg
524808-98fefab9c7a2d930673e6bbb13d595e4.jpg
Female

Repolie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Colour can be predicted up to a certain extent. If you got the parents from a pet store, then it becomes less predictable because they're usually mass bred and have unknown genes. This may help a bit: Basic Color Genetics of Betta Fish in 2018 - World Bettas

If I remember correctly from somewhere, the blue and red colouration is the most dominant. That's what I would expect most fry to be. @Demeter is more experienced.

Brenden

Valued Member
Reaction score
@Repolie hit it right on the head.

The genes from pet-store Bettas are so jumbled that it really is almost impossible to tell. Pet store bettas are sold strictly to be pets, not to be bred. They don't care about "perfect" lineages or color quality. They just want as many Bettas in their store as possible.

I wish you luck. If the fry take after the colors of the parents, you should have some very pretty bettas. I hope that is the case!

Demeter