What I Want To Do vs What I Can Do

1. Mundo Initiate Member

I am fairly new to the SWT game just to throw that out there. I have had my tank up n running for a week now just being paient and waiting for the cycling process to complete (which i have been told is about another week before i throw my "breaking in the tank fish") i have a FOWLR tank and my live rock have been in there for the same time as the tank has been running. I dont know the exact make of my filter but it is a very good filtration system. All in one its a Sump Refume type filter with a protein skimmer, canistoer, and wet& Dry hanging from the tank it filters 500 gallons an hour and has a side 3 gallon tank which we have filled with fresh conditioned water that automatically gets pumped into the tank when the water level drops which is very nice so theres no mess is changing the water every week.

Now that you have a slight idea of what I'm working with this is whats going on and what i have in mind for when my tank is ready to accpet some new friends. But before we get to my idea i have encounted a slight change on the road. I have a friend whos a manager at a Local petland discounts store but he is good with salt water tanks and has two at home one saltwater fish only and one fresh water tank I have been retaing info from him (as well as whatever i can get online that makes sense to me) but everything he has told me has been a success he also stressed that the key was filtration which is why i spent so much on my filter system (grand total of $520) do u guys think it was worth it?....