What fish would do best in my 7.2-7.6 ph?

BlueRaccoon

My ph fluctuates between 7.2-7.6. I was intentionally interested in tetras and harlequin rasboras; however, it seems like most of those come from acidic waters. I haven't seen any that don't from from acidic water. So what fish come from a ph above 7? I really don't want to start messing with my parameters. I'm new to fish keeping, so I'm trying to keep it easy. Also, I do not want livebearers. No babies, lol. My tank:

55g
ph: 7.2-7.6
gh: 6-8
kh: 2-5

ProudPapa

Many of the commercially raised tropical fish are raised in pH as high as yours or higher. Serpae tetras, pristella tetras, black neon tetras, lemon tetras, Corydoras trilineatus (commonly sold as juli corys, but really aren't), Lake Kutubu (turquoise) rainbowfish, pearl gouramis, and guppies have all done very well in my 8.2 pH water.

If you want fish that are native to higher pH then I believe African cichlids, rainbowfish, and livebearers will work. There are probably others, but those are all I can think of off the top of my head.

RayClem

pH is only one consideration. The other is water hardness.

Although there are some wild caught fish in the aquarium trade, most will be tank raised, likely in water with a pH slightly above neutral. If your water is super hard, you might have an issue with tetras, but you should be OK if you water is not too hard.

BlueRaccoon

Many of the commercially raised tropical fish are raised in pH as high as yours or higher. Serpae tetras, pristella tetras, black neon tetras, lemon tetras, Corydoras trilineatus (commonly sold as juli corys, but really aren't), Lake Kutubu (turquoise) rainbowfish, pearl gouramis, and guppies have all done very well in my 8.2 pH water.

If you want fish that are native to higher pH then I believe African cichlids, rainbowfish, and livebearers will work. There are probably others, but those are all I can think of off the top of my head.