What fish to stock my aquarium with?

1. THEGingerNinja

THEGingerNinja Valued Member Member

I have a 29 gallon long tank. It is not set up at the current moment. I am working on building a custom aquarium stand for the tank. But I am currently researching what to stock my tank with. I will be decorating the tank with a custom fake rock wall that will hide the filter intake. Black sand substrate, and a piece of driftwood with live plants. I have a cobalt slim heater that is rated for a 40 gallon tank, and a fluval g3 filter rated for an 80 gallon tank. What I was thinking of stocking the tank with would be as follows: 7 African dwarf frogs, 12 glofish (Danios and tetras) and the maybe a dwarf gourami and some ghost shrimp and maybe a snail or two. Is this going to work in my tank with this setup? Any help would be greatly appreciated. And I am very new to fish keeping. Had a goldfish like everyone else did when they were 3 or 4 yrs old... lol but I haven't had a fish since... thanks everyone in advance for your help.

I forgot to add my light system. I have an LED light kit that was purchased from lowes. There r approximately 40 led lights on an adhesive strip attached directly to the underside of the glass top to the aquarium. The lights go through 27 different colors from white to blue, orange, purple and etc at the push of a remote controller.

2. aliray

aliray Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to the forum and glad you joined us. Please read the linked post Nitrogen Cycle first if you don't know about it . You also if you don't have one is to pick up an API Master test kit for freshwater. ,so you can keep track of your water parameters and a bottle of seachums prime water conditioner. Both of those tend to be cheaper on Amazon.com . The tank is kind of deep for African dwarf frogs. When you do get the glofish make sure you get 6 of the same kind, danios or tetras. They are both schooling fish and should be in a minimum of 6 of their own kind. :;hi1Alison

3. OP