What Fish For Beginner/school Aquarium

BoyMelon

Hello everyone, I'm rather new to the world of aquariums and fish in general and need some help determining the starter fish for our school aquarium. Having dealt with aquatic turtles, I know some basics about aquatic animal care (not that it directly correlates with fish), but still don't know enough to properly assure my first batch for don't die or suffer. This is for a school aquarium.
Specifically, our teacher knows a great deal about pH, salinity, temperature, separate tanks, types of food to feed, and mostly everything in-between, but since my group is the one to get to choose what fish go inside the tank, I'm going to need some advice.

The tank is 30 gallons, freshwater, has a filter, small amount of foliage, all plastic atm (might need to be changed), a heater, bubbler, some lights, a good amount of substrate on the bottom (covers all of bottom), and is pretty new. As a result of being new, it hasn't matured.

If there is anything I'm missing, more info is needed, or anything in-between, please tell me so. I'd like to try my best to ensure these fish don't suffer and live a good life.

Platylover

Since this is a school tank I’d stock lightly so that there’s a little bit of room for error bioload wise. Just a few questions as well-

1. Are you looking for a singular fish or schools?

2. Is the heater adjustable so you can adjust the temp? If not what’s the temp?

3. Is the tank cycled? If not you’ll want to cycle it prior to adding fish as doing a fish inncycle is stressful. Granted you might be able to get away with it if you used a bottled bacteria like stability.

4. Can you post a photo of the tank so we can know how much cover there is?

ValerieAdams

HI and welcome to Fishlore!!

Do you want a single fish or a group of fish? Is your heater adjustable?