What Do Parameters And Water Conditions Mean?

adh/smile

HI!
I am new to the freshwater aquarium keeping and I have researched about water conditions and parameters such as ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, PH, DH, and GH. I know about the nitrogen cycle and how that works and use plain tap water with no water conditioning whatsoever. Can someone please explain what PH, DH, and GH is and is it important to have a water conditioning?

BottomDweller

Yes, very important to have water conditioning. It removes stuff from the tap water that is very harmful to the fish. One of the things it removes is chlorine. Chlorine kills the beneficial bacteria that grows in the filter and turns the ammonia into nitrite then nitrate so with chlorine in the tank your tank would never cycle. Water conditioner is essential.

Ph is how acidic or alkaline the water is.

Mardymustard1

Water conditioner for your tank is very immportant. Tap safe or conditioner removes harmful chemicals commonly found in tap water such as chlorine and eliminate ammonia. I really reccomend you get some water conditioner as soon as possible otherwise tap water will kill your fish. When using conditioner always follow the guidelines on how much to dose and never overdose that amount.

aquatickeeper

I've never heard of DH before do you mean KH (carbonate hardness)? KH connects to your PH and if KH is <5 DKH, wide PH swings will happen

adh/smile

Thank you for your quick responses! I will definitely get some water conditioner ASAP!
aquatickeeper said:
I've never heard of DH before do you mean (carbonate hardness)? KH connects to your PH and if KH is <5 DKH, wide PH swings will happen