what can i put in my new 50 gallon tank? 50 Gallon Tank

1. tom5678 Member Member

hi this is my first time on fishlore.com ;D
    i have just got a new 50 gallon tropical fish tank. it has got some live plants in it but i need to get more to fill it properly
    i also have a 15 gallon tank with a bristle nose catfish and 2 neons in. so i am going to put the bristle nose into the 50 gallon and also buy some more neons and put them in too.
    but i have no idea what else to put into the tank.
    any advice?
    the fish would have to be less that like 4 inches so quite small.
    and also peaceful so that they dont eat or fight with the neons.
    any help would be greatly appreciated and so would any other advice.
    thanks =]]

2. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

3. tom5678 Member Member

will an elephant fish be too big for my fish tank??

hi i am new to fishlore.com
    i have just got a new 50 gallon tropical fish tank. it does not currently have anything in it but it will do very soon. ( i have a bristle nose catfish, 2 neon tetras and another tetra which is like the neon just orange instead of blue).
    would i be able to get an elephant nose catfish or would it eat my other fish????
    would it be to big for the tank???... because i have heard that they can grow quite big.
    any other fish that would be good for my 50 gallon tank?
    please help
    :;thx

sorry about the 2 - 10 neons i was thinking ahead because i am going to get some more soon (in a few weeks) ;D

4. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello Tom,
    Since both of your threads are questions concerning stocking your new tank, :animal0068:I've merged your threads. It will be a lot less confusing to other members by keeping everything dealing with the same subject together. Too, it will help you to get more responses.
    Thanks!
    Ken

Too, I'm a bit concerned due to the fact your stocking list went from 2 Neons to 10 neons in 1 hour and 20 minutes....??? :)

5. tom5678 Member Member