What Can I Keep With My Guppies?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Christa2019, Apr 25, 2017.

1. Christa2019

Christa2019 New Member Member

Currently I have a 10gal tank that has been up and running smoothly for about 5 months; I have two male guppies that seem to get along great, a group of dwarf cory cats, two Amano shrimp, and one "mystery" snail. I also have quite a few plants with stone and drift wood for hiding places. I already do weekly water changes and have no problems devoting (more) time to my tank maintenance. I want to get more fish to liven up my tank, but I fear over stocking with such a small tank. I was hoping I could get some advice and suggestions as to what I could possibly add :)

Also please note that I am fairly new to the aquarium hobby and am trying my best to learn all that I can and keep my fish happy and healthy!

2. Demeter

Demeter Fishlore VIP Member

I don't feel like you should be adding any other species of fish other than 3-4 more male guppies. Very few fish can do will in a 10gal with guppies and bettas being the most widely available. I would not be adding any bettas though, they tend to hate guppies and often tear their colorful tails off.

No tetra species should be in a ten either (IMO) as they need groups and plenty of space to swim. You already have some bottom feeders so getting anything else would be unfair to the corries. Depending on how many corries you have, you can get a few more of those as it's the more the merrier with corries, a group of 6+ is a good minimum.

I say pick a few more male guppies, they like to be in groups as well and I think your tank can handle the bio-load. Are the plants real or fake? With live plants you can really overstock a tank (I've got 4 female bettas with 4 kuhli loaches and a nerite snail in my planted 10gal)

3. OP
    OP
    Christa2019