what can I feed the fishes?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by gulzarullah, Jul 5, 2015.

1. gulzarullahNew MemberMember

Sorry. I am a newbie in fishlore and got an aquarium from a friend as a gift. Now I don't know what I can feed the fishes as their are no fish food shops near my area. Is there any simple food that can be available at my home easily? The fishes are hungry since 4 days and i have no idea what to feed them.

2. Anders247

Anders247Fishlore LegendMember

Welcome to fishlore!
    What type of fish are they? Most will take flake food.

3. bettamars

bettamarsValued MemberMember

You should be able to find some flake food (depending on the type of fish) at any petco, petsmart, Walmart, or other pet/fish store in your area. Are there really no fish/pet stores in your area? You can do a quick google search for one in your area if you are unsure.

4. Bijou88

Bijou88Well Known MemberMember

I would ask your friend where they bought the aquarium and fish from, they should sell fish food as well

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

5. Dom90

Dom90Fishlore VIPMember

The more important question should be, is your tank cycled?

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

6. felix

felixValued MemberMember

Buy flake food. But crumble some bread and put it in the aquarium for now so your fish won't starve any time soon.

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

7. Vulpes

VulpesValued MemberMember

WELCOME TO FISHLORE !!

IMO,wouldn't feed the fish bread,they don't provide the proper nutrients that a fish needs and they can also cause bloating.

There are many options other than commercial fish foods,but to list them we need know the species of fish you have.