What can I do to upgrade my tank so my fish are happier?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by h2owill, Dec 16, 2012.

1. h2owillNew MemberMember

What should I do to make my fish happier? I have a 30 gallon tank, sufficient filter and heating already. I have four adult platies, one adult molly, and one baby platy. Should I get an algae eater? Snails? What about more mollies or platies? How many? I am adding a cave for Christmas so that should make them happier too. Does a bubble wall in front provide adequate aeration with the volcano and castle bubbling too? What about everyone's thought on the API Nexx Filter too? I am a newbie fish keeper and just want the absolute best for my fish. I know a lot of questions but I am extremely curious and do not want to lose another fish. :(

photo.JPG

2. Moneypenny1967

Moneypenny1967Valued MemberMember

Dont know if it makes fish happier but a background would look good on your tank.;)

3. Ziggi

ZiggiWell Known MemberMember

You could add some live plants :) Start easy with java fern, anubias and/or some other low-tech plants. If you want the bubble wall for aesthetic purposes then go for it, but I'm sure your filter provides enough disturbance. Am I correct you have 2 other bubblers? (you mentioned the volcano and castle) I'd say pick one, all three may be too much. (someone with more experience can chime in on that, I dont use bubblers)

If you have a good amount of algae growth you could add a snail or group of otocinclus after you're tank is a bit more established. Welcome to Fish lore and the hobby! :;hi1

4. bankruptjojo

bankruptjojoFishlore VIPMember

yeah i think a background might make them feel safer. maybe some more tall plants for that back right corner.

real plants are really the only thing that i think will actually make them happier and healthier.

you can add some snails they will help to clean the tank.