What Beginner Plants Grow Well In Gravel?

TJ Perkins

I'm somewhat new to aquarium plants. I just recently got 40lbs of black, pea gravel for my 29 gallon tank. I do not want to take out the black gravel in my tank because I personally think it is easier to clean than sand and substrate like eco-complete. Are there any plants that grow decently in gravel?

I'm looking for plants that require low light, can grow decent in gravel, tall and bushy plants for the back ground, and plants that can carpet the foreground. I've grown Amazon Swords in seachem Fluorite without any root tabs, but I know that stuff is easy to grow with that type of substrate. I would prefer not to use root tabs just because they're so expensive so if you could recommend plants that grow well in the gravel and feed off of fish waste, that would be awesome but if its unavoidable, I am still open to suggestions. Thank you!

Mcasella

Carpeting plants require a finer substrate and very high light (as well as co2 injection) to carpet properly instead of growing towards the light - these are not beginner plants...
Dwarf lily (stellatta, rubra) grow well in low light, medium light, high light, they can be grown bushy if you trim to surface leaves back. Trimming surface leaves also encourages growth of the plant for dwarf lilies. Most root tabs can be bought online for 7$ for 50 or even 100 root tabs...
Swords are another low light option, but you seem a little disinterested in them. Anubias, while expensive and slow growers, meet all of your requirements (though their rhisome cannot go into substrate or they will rot and die, their roots can by held down with gravel though). there are tall types (frazeri, afzelii, barteri, lancelotta, and congensis are all good ones).

TJ Perkins

Carpeting plants require a finer substrate and very high light (as well as co2 injection) to carpet properly instead of growing towards the light - these are not beginner plants...