What am i?

BatGrl3

Bought this at my LFS and I could swear it was (or I asked for) Java fern but the more I researched I think this is Amazon sword. Can anybody help me out? Bonus points if you can point me in the direction of if I can plant this in gravel. Thanks all!

PS: don't mind my photo bombers haha. If I tried to take a picture of them, they won't come near the camera.

Attachments

• 20210617_105413.jpg
    20210617_105413.jpg
    133.2 KB · Views: 26
  • 20210617_105356.jpg
    20210617_105356.jpg
    116.8 KB · Views: 26
  • 20210617_105352.jpg
    20210617_105352.jpg
    139.5 KB · Views: 25

carsonsgjs

Yep, amazon sword. Plant it in the substrate.

Upvote 0

BatGrl3

So I was right?!?! I couldn't figure out why the Java fern i thought I had didn't match the descriptions online. I'm a very new newbie to plants. Hoping I dont kill it.

Upvote 0

carsonsgjs

So I was right?!?! I couldn't figure out why the Java fern i thought I had didn't match the descriptions online. I'm a very new newbie to plants. Hoping I dont kill it.
You were indeed. I had a few swords in plain old gravel once upon a time - no plant substrate, co2 or ferts and they grew that big that i had to remove them. Will probably appreciate the occasional root tab for nice growth though.

Upvote 0

BatGrl3

You were indeed. I had a few swords in plain old gravel once upon a time - no plant substrate, co2 or ferts and they grew that big that i had to remove them. Will probably appreciate the occasional root tab for nice growth though.

I bought some Fluval Flourish because I am trying to improve my wet green thumb. I will pick up some root tabs (ummm how do you install those)

Upvote 0

carsonsgjs

I bought some Fluval Flourish because I am trying to improve my wet green thumb. I will pick up some root tabs (ummm how do you install those)
Do you mean seachem flourish?