What am I doing wrong? lost 2 cherry barbs overnight

Adam510

Why did I just lose 2 cherry barbs over night it seems? With bodies completely gone? I have a betta so I’m assuming he ate them but idk it seems weird that both whole bodies are gone… also why does my tank get so dirty so fast? I’m new to having an aquarium and I’m trying my best please help me with suggestions on how to run a simple 10 gallon community tank. Please and thank you

WRWAquarium

Hi there.

Can you fill in the emergency template?

That will help people find any problems.

Few questions off the bat... Is the tank cycled and how long has tank been running? Can you test the water? You may need to up your water change percentage or frequency.

Regarding the tank getting dirty fast. What kind of filter are you running?

Hope you get help.

otterblue

Maybe they jumped out?
It would be odd for an entire fish to be gone, let alone 2, unless the betta could swallow it whole.

Basil

Yes please fill out the emergency template that is linked above.
How many cherry barbs do you have in the 10 g?
And as far as the tank being dirty, do you mean mulm on the bottom? Or is it diatoms that occur if the tank is fairly new?

Adam510

Hi there.

Can you fill in the emergency template?

That will help people find any problems.

Few questions off the bat... Is the tank cycled and how long has tank been running? Can you test the water? You may need to up your water change percentage or frequency.

Regarding the tank getting dirty fast. What kind of filter are you running?

Hope you get help.
Okay I will fill that out, and no it’s not I’m new to all this and haven’t been cycling it or doing water changes because honestly I don’t know how, I have been putting in a waste management supplement but I guess it doesn’t do anything. And I’m not sure it’s just the filter the tank came with, top fin cn-s
Maybe they jumped out?