What’s Wrong With My Mystery Snail?

Discussion in 'Snails' started by mochii, Aug 19, 2019.

1. mochii

mochiiNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello! I just found my mystery snail looking like this at the bottom of the tank and I have no idea what happened. It looks like he’s protruding out of his shell. I’m not entirely sure if he’s even alive now, I moved him into a small container so I could monitor him closely but I haven’t seen any movement yet. The only thing I could found that remotely resembled this is mantle collapse, but I’m new to snails so I’m not really sure. I’d appreciate any help, thanks!

sorry, i’m new to the forum and the image didn’t upload the first time!!

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2019 at 7:17 PM
  2. richie.p

richie.pFishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +2,479
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Croeso welcome to fishlore mochii, when you touch him he should retreat back into the shell, how long as he been in the tank, all the normal questions need to be answered for anyone to diagnose
    Is the tank cycled, what are your perameters, a picture of the tank, are you using any meds or first, start there and see where it goes

3. OP
    OP
    mochii

mochiiNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    He’s been in the tank for about two months now, I have three other snails in the tank and they’re all acting fine. The tank has been cycled for two years and it is a 29gal. I’m not using any medications or supplements in the tank right now. My ammonia is at 0.25ppm (due for a water change), and I can test more parameters if it helps.

4. richie.p

richie.pFishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +2,479
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years