weather loaches and snails?

1. wisecrackerz Well Known Member Member

Can I keep mystery snails with weather loaches?

Yes, I know weather loaches eat small pest snails. In fact, they have totally eradicated pond snail infestations in two of my tanks (bummer for me; i love those little water softening cleaners).

However, my question is, what about mystery snails? Are these snails large enough that weather loaches can't eat them? Or will they just be lunch?

2. MD Angels Well Known Member Member

In my house, we never use that word, (loach). It is forbidden. lol

Even if the mystery was much larger than the loaches, I would still worry about them pecking at them. I personally would not risk it. Plus, mysteries really prefer tropical temperatures, and, assuming this is with your goldies, I'd also say no since they are not recomended with snails either (but I have no personal experience with this, while perhaps you do).

HTH ;)

3. wisecrackerz Well Known Member Member

I was only going with the goldies because RA said that he kept the mysteries with full grown koi, and it worked out. Also... I cheat on the temp with my cold water fish. I like to keep them right around 70-74 (it gets COLD at night). My sailfin needs the warmer temps, and I find that it perks everybody up quite a bit. However, these are petsmart dojos, and so they were used to high temps and over crowding before I got them, so I can't say that all weather loaches would be so forgiving, temperature wise.

And the weater loaches will be much bigger than the mystery snails (8" vs like 1" lol), so maybe I'll just wait until I can upgrade my sparkling gourami to a 12G, and then give him some pretty snaily friends.