Weather Loach Help??!

NatashaHodnett

Hey all, so I am relatively new to fish keeping and I need some help!! I was recently looking around at a local fish shop when I found this little dude that I fell in love with (he is a weather loach named noodle). I asked the owner a bunch of questions about him and if he could co Hab with my other fish in my 30 gallon tank. I’ve since read that loaches need much larger enclosures. (Lesson learned, do your own research)

When I purchased him I was under the impression he needed a 10 gallon tank (wayyy off) but I’ve since become quite attached to my little man, he even eats food out of my hand :,) he’s still
Quite a small dude but I do NOT want to have him in a tank that’s too small... what tank size would I need? I don’t have much space as I still live at home but I only want what’s best for my little guy. I would absolutely hate to re-home him but if I can’t get him a big enough tank than it’s what may have to happen

I think the biggest tank I could fit would be a 50??

I have a 30 gallon long with heater (temp around 75-80) filter, sponge filter, bubbler and a light fixture. I use sand as substrate since I have a lot of bottom dwellers!

My tank is currently home to...

- Male betta fish (Nemo)
- Weather Loach (Noodle)
- 1 green Cory’s and 2 pepper Cory’s
- 2 shrimp
- 3 snails
- 4 KuhlI Loaches
- 2 guppies
- dwarf aquatic frog
- yo-yo loach

Thanks everyone for your input!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    92.5 KB · Views: 135

Momgoose56

You really need a bigger tank than a 30 for your loach. A 55 gallon tank would be about perfect. Preferably about 46 inches long and as wide as possible. I think those weather loaches are awesome! Love the name you gave him, it fits!

SuperD14

Weather loaches actually live in cold water, I kept one in my pond over the summer and it only got to around 16 degrees Celsius

NatashaHodnett