Weak Guppies

Discussion in 'Guppy' started by Blanca R, Apr 12, 2018.

1. B

Blanca R New Member Member

Hello everyone, so I'm new to all of this. This Forum thing that is. I have been in the hobby now for about 3 years and started out with tetras. I have had Pelcos as well as Cory Catfish but up until this year started dealing with Guppies. I have had a few losses and I'm not sure if I'm just doing something wrong or if its where I've been purchasing from. While;e starting up my new ten gallon I kept the guppies with my Tetras Glofish. The tetras have killed a few so guppies have been rehomed now that my 10 gallons is cycled. During this rehoming, I have had 1 die already and I can tell 2 more are showing stress the tank does have salt which I diluted out a little more after the first death today. I really really love guppies can I please get advise on either a better place to purchase or helpful tips to keeping them.

Nitrites-0
    Nitrates-15 ppm
    Soft
    KH-40
    PH -Neutral
    Temp- 79 Degrees

2. OP
    OP
    B

3. Mary765

Mary765 Well Known Member Member

Mmm... Guppies don't do well in salt so don't add any more in and the salt will be diluted to a trace over the course of your natural water changes.

How many guppies in there? Are they in a m:f ratio of 1:2/3 or all one gender?

4. OP
    OP
    B

they are all male guppies I haven't decided if i want females in there as of yet just because of how fast they reproduce plus id have to outnumber the males as you stated

5. Tsin21

Tsin21 Well Known Member Member

Guppies don't do well in soft water. They sometimes also have problems even in hard water if it is lacking in certain minerals (magnesium). How did you acclimate them? And did you quarantine them?

Actually, guppies can survive or even thrive in saltwater if properly acclimated. The main problem with salt is with the other fishes which may not tolerate it so it's advisable to stop it.

6. OP
    OP
    B