We Have A Derp Fish :(

Kels723
HI there! Thanks for an awesome forum! This is my first post and I'm fairly new to aquariums, so bear with me.

So, my husband and I just started a 65 gallon cichlid tank, we've had it going for about three months now. We started with 7 mixed cichlids and have gone through all the beginner mistakes - lost two to bloat, had a massive ammonia spike, had to re-do the bacteria cycle (fish in, that was terrible!) ...all brought us where we are now. Finally have a healthy tank, added a couple new cichlids and they are all fat and happy fishies! ...except for one.

We currently have two Electric Blue Johannis, one Bumblebee, one Green Terror (female), one Electric Blue (female) and two Rusties. One of the Rusties, we call him Derpy, he has shown issues since we got him. When we had the ammonia spike it got worse - hanging out on the surface, swimming vertically... We thought he was a gonner. But seriously, this fish is still kicking, swimming vertically and bumping into stuff, and it's been over a month. This fish will probably survive the apocalypse.

My question is, anyone have an idea what could have caused his issues? Anything we can do to help him? He does get picked on a little, but the other tank mates leave him alone for the most part. He eats like a pig and randomly torpedoes when you least expect it. But his body looks pretty rough from hanging out in the plants all day (I attached a pic, that's his spot).

We're totally open to suggestions. Any input is appreciated. Thank you!

Sorry... apparently I can't edit my post? Title was supposed to say "Derp fish". Lol

Attachments

• 20180401_191103.jpg
    20180401_191103.jpg
    117 KB · Views: 146
emerald6
You have some stocking issues with this setup, in which the more experienced members of this forum may help you with

Kels723
Stocking issues? I hope not... we consulted a few different people at the local fish stores.