water tests - need advice

1. swimfan Member Member

Hello all, I'm new to aquariums and to this forum. I started my aquarium a few months ago, and slowly over the course of the 3 months I lost all my swimmers due to ich &/or fungal infection (finrot) ~ the fish displayed symptoms of both.

I started fresh 3 weeks ago. Two weeks ago I added the first fish, 3 black skirt tetras. One is quite large and silvery/shiny, one is medium sized and has much more black on the "skirt" area, and the third is a small guy with more of the silvery colouring.

WHen I got them home, I realized that the middle one was missing BOTH of the small side fins (located right under/behind the gills). They must have been eaten off by another fish in the store? Anyway, all was looking good, for almost a week, and then the other two started picking on the middle one big time, real harrassment. So I quarantined the middle one, and within a few hours of "her" being alone, sadly, she died...... :'(

I've been doing water tests every few days, and from what I understand the tank will take up to 6 weeks to completely cycle and my levels of everything will be stable? Is that right? I gave up on the chlorine removing chemical with this second new setup, and have just been leaving water in my basin for 24 hours before adding. I wondered if that was undesirable to my first batch of fish. These guys seem ok, but don't have too much spunk lately. I want to save them, but I don't know what's wrong? Here are my water test readings from today:

pH 8.0 (this is high, but our plain water is 7.5)
    nitrate 0ppm
    nitrite 2.0ppm (?????)
    ammonia .25ppm (this has gradually lowered since the fish were first added).

I plan another water change tomorrow, but is there anything I need to do for the nitrites? What about the pH? Do I need to worry about that?

Question about the aquarium salt....... how much do I add? I worry about adding anything to the water, and don't want to oversalt them.