Water Tests In A Brackish Tank

aurion

Hello, I'm a newbie trying to create a low end brackish tank (SG 1.005) to keep gobies with swordtails. I did 5 weeks of dry start in a planted soil tank and flooded the tank 2 days ago. I'm using Seachem brackish salt, which I already used 2 jars of to reach 1.005 for my 20 gallon long tank. I'm using the API freshwater kit to test ammonia levels, and they are rising exponentially (there are no fish in the tank, still cycling). One thing that concerns me though is that a white cloudy precipitate forms in the tube when I add the testing reagents... it didn't do that before I added the brackish salt so I'm guessing that the salts are reacting with whatever is in the reagents. Would appreciate input from all the brackish gurus out there about what to do. Thank you!

Fisker

Never had that issue when using API on freshwater, brackish, or saltwater. That said, I use Instant Ocean salt, and not Seachem. I actually didn't know that Seachem had their own salt line. Regardless, as long as the test seems to be reading accurately, I wouldn't worry about it. I would switch over to Instant Ocean, though, as I'd imagine you'd pay MUCH, MUCH less per lb of salt.

Be careful not to let your SG creep up too much with swordtails. They can definitely handle some salt, and I find that they do better with SOME salt in their water - I kept some at 1.004 and they thrived. However, if I got behind on top-offs, and it crept up to 1.006 (which happened quite often, as it was a paludarium) I noticed that some of them seemed stress, although all other parameters were within range. The swordtails I was keeping were a pretty "fancy" strain, and probably hadn't encountered much salt in many, many generations, so YMMV, but still. In general, swordtails and platies are both much less salt-tolerant than guppies, endlers, and mollies.

aurion