Water testing results (liquid test)

joeycasperanita

Reaction score
Hello all!
So after my baby died yesterday I decided that I clearly cannot give up on my 2 black mollies who are well and fine. I do have aquarium salt in the tank with them and here are the results after my 25% water change this morning:
--------------------------
pH = 7.6 (higher than usual...but not as high as it's been)
Ammonia = 0ppm
Nitrite = 0ppm
Nitrate = 0ppm (is this too low? what is the ideal range?)

I wish I hadn't lost Princess Plinko Poptart, but I am happy with these results....I think? How long should I keep doing my daily water changes for? (This is the first time since Friday my ammonia has been 0. Since then it's been 1-->0.25)

sasha

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi im just a beginner aswell but i would say the tank hasnt started to cycle yet, butterfly, chickadee, isabella can tell you more on that,

i lokkied at your lasts posts and as far as i have been told by fish keepers that if you get nitrates at a certain level when cycling and not much of ammonia ,or nitrite, you may be overfeeding and the process cant keep up as it has to start off slowly,
Again check with the expierenced ppl on here as oi might be talking rubbish lol lol

joeycasperanita

Reaction score
Uhm, but I had nitrite and nitrate and ammonia readings last week and it's been running for a month. I've done a lot of water changes to get my ammonia and nitrate gone. Would this have caused my nitrate to disappear as well?? Is this bad?
Anita

sasha

Valued Member
Reaction score
If you get ammonia and nitrite when tank has been going for a month, its not done yet as the only one you should be getting is nitrate.
when its completed the cycle

nitrate is the good one you want from the tests not the others but only nitrate low levels if POSSIBLE but nitrate isnt a big,big problem if it goes a bit higher than normal as water changes fixes it out