Water test results

jasejinx

Reaction score
I have just completed a water test for my 120 litre tropical fish tank and these are the reults:

Ph = 7-7.5
Ammonia = 0-0.6
Nitrite = 0.3 mg/l
Nitrate = 5 mg/l

Can anyone tell me if these are ok levels to keep my fish at, and if not how can I go about reducing or highering these results. As you probably can guess I am new to this. Many thanks.

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
First of all, welcome to Fish Lore

It's good that you haven't stocked your tank yet. From your readings, I presume you haven't had your tank running for a long time. Am I correct? You have ammonia and nitrite present in your water because your tank is cycling. If you do not know what cycling means, please read about the Nitrogen Cycle that can be found in the Beginners' Articles (which are on the Freshwater Beginners board). Now, ammonia and nitrite are very toxic compounds to fish, and that is why they need to be at zero at all times when you have fish in your tank. Nitrate is less toxic but if its concentration is too high, it can be toxic as well. The general guideline is to keep nitrate below 40 ppm (40 being the max). However, I'd personally not keep nitrate above 20 ppm because a nitrate level of 40 ppm isn't exactly healthy for fish.