Water snake or eel (what to feed)

dhelhalton

my son bought a pet which looks like a water snake. not sure what it is called. apparently we don't know what to feed it and how to properly take care of it. I hope you can help us with the proper care of it as we reaaly would want to keep it. tia

coralbandit

Welcome .See if you can load a picture of it .
I am sure someone here will know what you got and to care for it properly .

dhelhalton

dhelhalton said:
my son bought a pet which looks like a water snake. not sure what it is called. apparently we don't know what to feed it and how to properly take care of it. I hope you can help us with the proper care of it as we reaaly would want to keep it. tia
here is a picture of it...

coralbandit

Wow that really does look like a "sea snake ".
Where did you get it ?
I would be very careful ,some 'sea snakes' are venomous .

Corydork

Looks cool. I have no knowledge on care for it, but you can probably feed it some thawed and chopped shrimp. I know it may be obvious, but I have to ask, freshwater or saltwater?

dhelhalton

it is fresh water.. tried feeding it with the usual fish food but doesn't seem to get its appetite.. I don't think small fish will fit in its mouth.. its so small. I bought it in a marketplace on the other town. it hasn't eaten yet for 6 days.

kallililly1973

It almost seems moccasin snake like. I would definitely get an ID on it and in the meantime be sure you have a tightly sealed lid

dhelhalton

i've been searching online of what specific breed it is and how to take care of it. here in the philippines i've been seeing pet shops who are selling it. apparently they only call it water snake. I know there is a specific name for ir for there are a lot of water snake species. will try to check more info foe its food and proper care. I will appreciate if anyone from here would really help. tnx!!!