Water parameters high! need help!

ferrariluca07

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello, I am new to the fish world.
I set up my 10 gallon tank a week ago, I have 1 betta in it. I was impatient and added 2 cory catfish 2 days after I set up the tank.
I fed the catfish 2 pellets that sunk to the bottom the night before and I woke up to the water being cloudy.
I came home from work seeing the poor catfishes had died. my stupid self knew nothing about the nitrogen cycle but I went to my LFS and told them what happened explained the whole cycle to me. They said to add bio support everyday and clean up left over food that was at the bottom of the tank.
The water has cleared up significantly but I have been testing my water and my ammonia is at 1.0ppm nitrite at 0.25ppm and nitrate at 5.0ppm and my water doesn't have the best smell to it.
I bought a air stone to help with the water agitation as well.
I just did a 20% water change. No food gets left at the bottom because my betta eats right away.
I am stuck I try to do the right things I have no luck.
Can anyone help me and explain what I should do.

SeaMonkey06

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
ferrariluca07 said:
Hello, I am new to the fish world.
I set up my 10 gallon tank a week ago, I have 1 betta in it. I was impatient and added 2 cory catfish 2 days after I set up the tank.
I fed the catfish 2 pellets that sunk to the bottom the night before and I woke up to the water being cloudy.
I came home from work seeing the poor catfishes had died. my stupid self knew nothing about the nitrogen cycle but I went to my LFS and told them what happened explained the whole cycle to me. They said to add bio support everyday and clean up left over food that was at the bottom of the tank.
The water has cleared up significantly but I have been testing my water and my ammonia is at 1.0ppm nitrite at 0.25ppm and nitrate at 5.0ppm and my water doesn't have the best smell to it.