Water Parameters For Red Cherry Shrimp

brondo

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Can I ask what your water perameters are? I just like to know what they are used to. I have been struggling with my cherries for a while, and I am curious where yours thrive best.

thequietman44

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
brondo said:
Im interested in the 20+5 also. Can I ask what your water perameters are? I just like to know what they are used to. I have been struggling with my cherries for a while, and I am curious where yours thrive best.
My pH is 7.6, last time I checked KH was 4-5 and GH was about the same. The only "special" thing I do with my shrimp is hang a nylon stocking full of crushed coral in the tank to raise/buffer the pH and add all those lovely trace elements to the water. I've been keeping cherry shrimp for about 10 years so I have a "typical" 10 gallon setup that always seems to end up just right for shrimp.

brondo

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
thequietman44 said:
My pH is 7.6, last time I checked KH was 4-5 and GH was about the same. The only "special" thing I do with my shrimp is hang a nylon stocking full of crushed coral in the tank to raise/buffer the pH and add all those lovely trace elements to the water. I've been keeping cherry shrimp for about 10 years so I have a "typical" 10 gallon setup that always seems to end up just right for shrimp.
Wow. Those are my perameters exactly, i am even adding crushed shell to all my tanksm i wonder why I am struggling with bad molts and no breeding. So bizarre

ETNsilverstar

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
brondo said:
Wow. Those are my perameters exactly, i am even adding crushed shell to all my tanksm i wonder why I am struggling with bad molts and no breeding. So bizarre
Quite possibly a TDS issue. I'd recommend starting your own thread to ask about it. Lots of us are happy to help with troubleshooting!

thequietman44