Water in tank turned cloudy!

Serenith
Water in new tank turned cloudy!

So I'll admit that I am completely new to the aquarium word. In the past I did have a beta, Mona (Named after Big Mona from a Scooby-doo movie.), in a 10 gallon tank. But there was nothing special I did for him. (I should have done more research, I didn't. Be that as it may he did live a bit over 3 years.

ANYWAYS. I bought a 20 gallon tank recently as I'd love the idea of some pretty water babies. I rinsed out my gravel and decorations first and after putting those in, added the water. I used something to add in the water.. I think it was a general conditioner? I am not home to say so I'll add that later. Anyways my plan was to let it run for a week and then add fish if the levels came out good. It's been 4 days since its been running. On the second day I did add two plants ( I THINK Java fern. The other I'm not sure. ) and I did put these root tabs in the gravel underneath them. The third day everything seemed fine, but I wasn't stalking the tank. Now it's the fourth day and the water is cloudy. Not only that there is debris on the gravel. Light maybe light brown. When I pushed the gravel around it just came off into the water like dust. The places that had these spots weren't near where I put the root tabs were placed ( underneath the plants buried a bit further. ) When the filter is pulled out its orange where the water has been filtering though.
Please help! And keep in mind that I am very new. And I've been stalking the forums and I see how people are properly doing tanks so I may have made some mistakes with the root tabs. *shrug* >.<

Please see pics at

Thanks for any help that can be provided!

Edit; API quick start is what I used on my tap water.

SamTheFishGuy
Its probably Ammonia, You tank is still cycling. Mines did that, but only once because I used Top Fin Bacteria Supplement to kickstart the cycling. Dose it look like smoke in the water?

Serenith