water for the garden

brokenwing

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Hey all its that time of the year again. I got the all the garden planted except for the cucumber and squash. My onions, and potatoes broke grown yesterday. Im curious if anyone here on fishlore uses aquarium water on there vegetable garden. Now that im in the hobby i would like to put that water to use, its full of fertilizer, but I wanted to see what you all think. I have kept a garden for years, and I dont want to kill my crops.

Attachments

claudicles

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
The only water I put onto my potted plants (over 40 pots) is aquarium water. It is great stuff. I have a mix of things including gardenias, blueberries, bromeliads etc. They thrive. The only possible concern you could have with watering your vegies would be the possibility of transmitting any disease common to fish and humans. I don't know of any ( I am a doctor) so you should be right. Vegies are heavy feeders and tend to grow faster and more lush with lots of water so it sounds ideal.

Last edited by a moderator:

Aquarist

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Good morning,

I use my siphoned aquarium water on all of my plants, potted and veggies. Wonderful fertilizer!

I don't recommend this for anyone that uses salt in their tanks. The salt may kill the plants.

Ken

Shawnie

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I agree with ken!
Its great for our gardens/houseplants....minus the salt of course

bolivianbaby

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I use my aquarium water for my flowers. Last year, I had Little Shop of Horrors on my front porch, they loved the water so much. I think it's the nitrates that really help them grow.

Matt Berry

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years