Water Changing?

Discussion in 'Water Changes' started by happygolucky, Jul 29, 2015.

1. happygolucky

happygolucky Well Known Member Member

Hi, I've been posting frequently because this seems like a great source of info for fish newbies such as myself, and I had a total newbie question about water changing. Whenever I have "changed water" in the past, it has included me taking out some water with my tank pump, and me adding some ~room temp. water along with water conditioner. It feels like there has to be something more to it, and if there is please tell me. What I plan to do from now on though, is take ~15% of the water out, put some new water in a pot I have (reserved for fish stuff), and add conditioner. Once the conditioner is finished with it's work, I'll just dump the water in. Good strategy or no? Also, should the water be at perfect temp., or is it ok to be slightly colder?

2. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

15% isn't nearly enough. Depending on your bioload, you'll need to do between 25-50% weekly. Try to keep your nitrates between 20-40.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. alink

alink Well Known Member Member

I would advise changing a little more than 15% weekly. I would say 30% minimum, maybe 50% once a month or so.

When you do change the water, that is the time you remove poop and excess, move decorations around, fix/add/move plants, etc.

To handle the first thing I mentioned, you have to do gravel vacs (if you have gravel substrate) by plunging your siphon into the gravel until it runs clear, then move an inch over and repeat the whole process until you have removed the desired amount of water. If you have sand substrate you will move the siphon around in circles close to the sand to stir up anything that maybe resting on it. Then you can suck it up without sucking up your sand.