Water changes

swimmingslowly

Yesterday I tested my water and my ammonia was around .5 ppm. I did a water change and retested today and it’s at 0. I have 0 nitrites and 0 nitrates as well.

I guess I’m just kind of confused as to whether I’m supposed to keep some level of ammonia in the tank. I have 1 Betta in there so I’ve been testing very frequently. This is my first time cycling a tank and I have been so stressed from it!

If my ammonia is down to 0 will the bb that has already started to grow die off? What should I keep my ammonia levels at while doing a fish-in cycle? I’ve been dosing with prime as well

Best Answer - View 's answer

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
If you are seeing 0 ammonia then you have ammonia eating bacteria. This is exactly what you want to see. Seeing no ammonia is a very good thing. Your little guy is constantly adding tiny bits of ammonia. The bacteria is cleaning it up. I noticed you read the piece I wrote about doing a fish in cycle. As long as you keep ammonia and nitrites (when they show up) down to negligible levels with water changes your little guy should be fine.

As to adding Prime. If you aren't seeing ammonia there is no need to add prime except enough to treat the water you are replacing during a water change. Prime is a good tool but only needs to be added during a water changes or when you have a spike in ammonia and/or nitrites. If they spike get them down with a water change and again add prime.

OP
swimmingslowly

swimmingslowly

Thank you!! Your article was so easy to digest, you do a great job simplifying this info for us beginners :)

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
swimmingslowly said:
Thank you!! Your article was so easy to digest, you do a great job simplifying this info for us beginners :)