Water Changes Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by MupsIsLife, Apr 18, 2019.

1. MupsIsLifeNew MemberMember

Hello! So i’m new to fish keeping but I wanna prepare well before I get my fish. So I have a question about water changes. The first site I read said that I should do 100% water changes once every month so you can clean gravel, ornaments etc. Then I went to other sites but they said you should do 100% water only when necessary. I got a bit confused so I did more research and I only read that you should do 100% water changes only when it’s necessary. So that would mean that I should only do 25-50% water changes every week. But now my question is how do I clean the gravel and the ornaments? I read that you should clean them with water and not with soap, bot how do I clean everything in the tank? Do I remove the fish first and then remove the ornaments and gravel to clean them? I hope I can get answers so I know what to do once I get my fish, soon i’m going to set up my aquarium and cycle it and then i’m going to put a beta in it! I’m really exited :D! Btw my apologies if there are any grammar mistakes, i’m a foreigner and still learning English.

2. oldsalt777Well Known MemberMember

Hello Mup...